• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
¾ Carat Certified Round Cut Diamond 14K White Gold Solitaire Engagement Ring for $899.99Stone: ¾ CTW Round Diamond 
Diamond Color: F-G
Diamond Clarity: VS2
Size: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Metal: 14K White Gold
Style: Diamond Engagement Ring

http://1sale.com/jewelry/rings/sr4-75w/  

Looks good according to the size, clarity and color of diamond. Who bought diamond ring from 1Sale.com

1Sale.com
See 1Sale.com discounts that earn 1.5% FatWallet Cash Back.
Member Summary

Ā¾ Carat Diamond (81.69kB)
Thanks djrsn00
Disclaimer

Unfortunately I have some knowledge about this.

I would only buy rings certified by GIA.

Other labs have very lose guidelines in regards to how to rate a diamond.

A real F-G grade will look white in a white gold setting, and white gold is a demanding test of color purity. A yellow gold setting will tend to hide the more yellow H, I, J, K diamond colors, because the yellow gold throws a lot of yellow into the diamond anyway. Diamonds are very susceptible to being judged by their surroundings.

So if 1Sale is pushing the envelope, white gold isn't the mount to do it with. If you take it down to a jewelry store and compare it to a known F-G in identical lighting, you'll probably be able to distinguish if there's a 2 or 3 notch discrepancy. Even pros have a hard time distinguishing a one-notch difference in well controlled situations.

GIA is reliable, other labs may fudge a bit. The difference in value between grades is 10-20% for each notch. I'm guessing for a 3/4 ct diamond it's the lower 10% number that is more applicable.

That said, in this economy, gold has shot up of course, and there won't typically be a heavy gold setting. On the other hand, diamonds are a spectacular value (pun intended), as their value has dropped nearly 1/3 in the last 5 or so years due to lack of demand.

Congratulations!