edit
Help/Support

Forums
Hot Deals

Creative EP-630 Noise-Isolating Earphones $7.99 shipped from China Archived From: Hot Deals

  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
  • Classic
  • Go to Page :
  • 1 2345
alert mods    


I found this deal by doing a Froogle search. Knew nothing about the company, but decided to give it a shot due to the low price. Ordered yesterday (paid with PayPal) and today I received an e-mail indicating the item has been shipped and that it will arrive via air mail in 7-14 working days. Seems legit, but you decide... I've had good luck with similar merchants from China/Hong Kong.


Link

Product price: $4.99
Shipping (Air Mail) : 3.00
Total: $7.99

WARNING: like the other headphones deal on right now, this place sells a lot of other gadgets. So... if you do not want to spend more money, do not browse the site!!!



A note to all interested, these are most likely FAKES.

I did reading up on these headphones when the Buy.com, two for ~$19.xx AR/GCO deal came up a few weeks (months?) ago. In googling the model no. and reading the headphone websites, there were many many mentions of "OEM" versions of this model being counterfeit/fake.

Read the links listed a few posts down for proof. Here's a few more:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/598226.html <-- no proof, just more assumptions and may or may not be relevant to this merchant.

Message edited by: muoot on 2007-02-08 11:41:08 CST
alert mods    

This seems like too much of a chance of getting counterfeit ones...does anyone know about this company?


alert mods    

I guess it's OEM version.. without any kind of warrent. creative company will not happy to see this selling from contract manufacture directly.
plus, you don't know if those pass the creative QA test or not..


alert mods    

Although I've not yet ordered from this company, the vast majority of similar China-direct deals I've gotten have been the legit item.

Considering how much is tacked onto what American companies pay the Chinese manufacturers per item, in the form of marketing costs, employee costs, profits, stockholder dividends, CEO's & upper Mngmt - not to mention the retailer mark-ups, they should be much cheaper when skipping these middlemen. In for a pair.


alert mods    

Likely a Fake.

Go with Amazon.com to ensure a genuine product.

Just my 2 cents.


alert mods    

idex said:Likely a Fake.

Go with Amazon.com to ensure a genuine product.

Just my 2 cents.


How is that "ensured"?


alert mods    

YankeeRedneck said:idex said:Likely a Fake.

Go with Amazon.com to ensure a genuine product.

Just my 2 cents.


How is that "ensured"?


agreed can never be sure, you don't know where the distributor is from on Amazon, you had a better chance of a getting a real one, but no way to "ensure"


alert mods    

It looks like the seller iholiday on eBay is this g-wholesale company. Feedback score is 98.8%, with the occasional slow shipping/doa complaint - although there a couple complaints of non-genuine parts.

Can't decide whether or not to order - I've been waiting for a deal on these again after missing out on the Buy.com deal.


alert mods    

lazybummm said:YankeeRedneck said:idex said:Likely a Fake.

Go with Amazon.com to ensure a genuine product.

Just my 2 cents.


How is that "ensured"?


agreed can never be sure, you don't know where the distributor is from on Amazon, you had a better chance of a getting a real one, but no way to "ensure"


Sigh, Semantics....

Go with http://us.creative.com/ to ensure a genuine product


alert mods    

The shipping cost alone is as much as from the OP's site, not to mention the inflated price for the EP630 there. Ooops, now I get it.

This company seems to sell their headphones on eBay, as well, advertised as "genuine". I doubt they'd have a 98.8% positive rating if they sold fakes.


alert mods    

these "OEM" from china EP-630's are all over feebay. If you search eBay for EP-630, you will find almost all the listings are plain bagged "OEM" models.

Has anyone actuallly comapred one of these to a genuine creative EP-630?


alert mods    

idex said:lazybummm said:YankeeRedneck said:idex said:Likely a Fake.

Go with Amazon.com to ensure a genuine product.

Just my 2 cents.


How is that "ensured"?


agreed can never be sure, you don't know where the distributor is from on Amazon, you had a better chance of a getting a real one, but no way to "ensure"


Sigh, Semantics....

Go with http://us.creative.com/ to ensure a genuine product


ahhh, forget it, just go to the 99cent store, or buy some shure's


alert mods    

Could be a OEM version but most likely fake. The headphones coming out of China are imazing! I went back to VietNam last year and look at sub $10 headphone and they have very very nice sound some have thunderous bass most are around $5 w/with-out microphone so these are about the nicer one price so it COULD be nice.

But I read terrible reviews about these being fake, if I was going back there I would buy those noname brand-to American that is, they're quite well know back there. My brother-in-law took his Triport back and I didn't see $145 different-his Bose was more comfortable and just a bit better but not in the bass though. Remember we were comparing a $150 to a $6 can.

Yes, there are a lot $1 or less headphone but the better cans are about $10.


alert mods    

Actually the Creative EP-630 is a bargain to begin with compared to the Sennheiser CX300! Supposedly they are the same headphone! they are the same headphone!


alert mods    

Fake/OEM Creative EP-630s and Sennheiser CX-300s from China/HK/Taiwan tend to be sold on eBay and elsewhere, see these threads:

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?p=101698
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=203461
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=191822

I once met a seller to test a pair, wasn't impressed but I'm only familiar with the Sony EX71SLs and Panasonic HJE-30s.

Anyway for that cheap it's probably still ok if you aren't an audiophile and want canalphones.


alert mods    

Chisand said:Actually the Creative EP-630 is a bargain to begin with compared to the Sennheiser CX300! Supposedly they are the same headphone! they are the same headphone!

I read this elsewhere, as well. After reading all the e-bay comments from those who've specifically bought the EP-630 sets from this vendor, odds are they are the real deal. At the very least, they are reported to be of high quality and sound very good.


alert mods    

additive said:plus, you don't know if those pass the creative QA test or not.."Creative" and "QA" in the same sentence is an oxymoron, anyhow.


alert mods    

This are called fakes.


alert mods    

creamyhorror said:Fake/OEM Creative EP-630s and Sennheiser CX-300s from China/HK/Taiwan tend to be sold on eBay and elsewhere, see these threads:

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?p=101698
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=203461
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=191822

I once met a seller to test a pair, wasn't impressed but I'm only familiar with the Sony EX71SLs and Panasonic HJE-30s.

Anyway for that cheap it's probably still ok if you aren't an audiophile and want canalphones.


IMPORTANT:

From the last link provided above, one member on headfi complains about horrible sounding fakes he bought on eBay. The link to the item he bought is here. If you view that item, you'll notice it was sold by seller iholiday, the eBay outlet of www.g-wholesale.com. It would appear there is a very good chance the ones offered here are fakes.


 Close

Sign Me In
Nickname: 
Password: 
Remember My Login Information:

Forget your login information?

Not Already A Member?
Sign Up Now!



Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.


Sign up for free today, because you don't want to miss out on any more cash back than you already have! There are currently 1,213,232 people just like you registered to earn Cash Back From FatWallet. Be the next! Sign up to join the discussion & earn Cash Back from FatWallet:
close