From Callaway: http://www.callawaygolf.com/Global/en-US/CustomerService/ConsumerAlert-CounterfeitClubs.html TO PROTECT OUR VALUED CUSTOMERS FROM FRAUD, Callaway Golf SHARES THE FOLLOWING WARNING: Consumers in the United States, Europe, Australia, and Canada have recently purchased sets of so-called "brand new Callaway Golf clubs" at very low prices on eBay.com and other Internet auction sites. These clubs and bags were in fact low-quality fakes. Callaway Golf's authorized retailers are not permitted to sell new Callaway Golf clubs on eBay.com. There has also been an increase of Internet web sites offering what are claimed to be authentic Callaway Golf clubs at very low prices. Many, but not all, of these web sites are based in China. The clubs they sell are usually counterfeit. To obtain authentic Callaway Golf clubs, buy only from authorized retailers listed in our website locator, or shop at www.shop.callawaygolf.com. For certified used Callaway Golf clubs, buy from an authorized retailer or go to www.callawaygolfpreowned.com. Learn more about how you can protect yourself from counterfeiters. Read Nine Ways To Avoid Being Fooled by Counterfeits. Should you have a question, or require advice on how to purchase authentic Callaway Golf clubs, please call 800-588-9836, or email us at customerservice@CallawayGolf.com. Also, eBay.com does not permit the auction of counterfeit items and welcomes reports of suspicious activity.
The point to take away is that there are many counterfeits on the market, and a price point that is far below your neighborhood shop is suspect.
The links above can and will clarify all of this.
Caveat emptor In these fraudulent situations eBey / Paypel / Sellers via eBey or elsewhere, are not your allies.
They're probably coming out of the same factory in China, it doesn't matter if they have a serial number or not. If the plant supervisor decides to run an extra batch of these on the side, and sell it for hundreds less, that's his business.
Jslob2003
New Member
posted: Aug. 10, 2009 @ 5:42p
I just looked into clubs from golfshopping18.com. He told me this is what they do. Callaway hires out to make a certain number of sets. The factory, in China, will make extra sets and sell them. I'm curious to know if anyone has hit these fake clubs and compared them to legit ones.
Jslob2003
New Member
posted: Aug. 10, 2009 @ 5:42p
...
motocross93
New Member
posted: Aug. 18, 2009 @ 12:11p
I have been having a long conversation with a guy named Chris at golfshopping18.com. It all seems really strange to me???? I am looking at the AP2 irons from Titleist. Here is what he wrote: "Hi, All my clubs are OEM products, great quality. OEM means Original Equipment Manufacture For example, Titleist company authorize the factory in China to produce 1000 pcs clubs, but in fact they did more, perhaps 1500 pcs, this is the one in the extra 500 pcs. The same quality as the one in your local proshop. But the serial numbers will not be admitted by Titleist company. They will be shipped directly from its original manufacturer ( in China ), reduced lots of linkage cost, that's why we could sell them at such a favorable price. Small profit by large turnover! We have hundreds of orders every day. You have 7 days return policy and 1 year warranty guaranteed by our company. Let me know if you are interested.
Thanks Chris"
I not quite sure what to do? They offer a 7 day money back option. But I bet trying to return anything would be an issue. I have a call into Titleist to see what their take is on the matter.
Good Luck!
treydawg
Member
posted: Aug. 18, 2009 @ 1:10p
motocross93 said: I not quite sure what to do? They offer a 7 day money back option. But I bet trying to return anything would be an issue. I have a call into Titleist to see what their take is on the matter.
Good Luck!
No offense, but what do you think their take would be?
ultracookie
New Member
posted: Aug. 18, 2009 @ 1:41p
Just rec'd a set of the X-22 irons from istockgolf.com. Have not hit them yet but they look and feel great, just like the ones I saw at Dick's. The 8 iron does have a serial no. on the hosel and each club came in plastic bag with Callaway all over it and all the Callaway patent numbers listed, and the following paragraf "IN addition to copyright, trademark, and trade dress rights, Callaway Golf's products ar protected by one or more of the following U.S. patents, as well as one or more foreigh patents corresponding to one or more of the U.S. patents listed below:" The grips have Callaway Golf inprinted on two sides. The shafts have the True Temper R300 Dynamic Gold sticker on them along with True Temper Dynamic Gold Made in USA etched into the shaft. There are also two holografic like stickers on the shafts that say Callaway Golf and Pass No. 28275. The serial no. etched in the hosel is not real deep but the number and some kind of logo are easy to read. Let you know more after I use them
Convenient a "new member" joined just to refute claims of counterfeiting. I am SURE he isn't at all trying to defend his product or anything.
lukeshu
New Member
posted: Aug. 26, 2009 @ 1:34p
I ordered these as well. After everything I am reading I am feeling like I got screwed. I did it on a whim knowing they had a return policy. Have you hit these yet or taken them to a store to compare side by side ???
rjfan91
New Member
posted: Aug. 27, 2009 @ 11:21a
JChace029 said: Convenient a "new member" joined just to refute claims of counterfeiting. I am SURE he isn't at all trying to defend his product or anything.
Just like all the new members saying they ordered and love them...
whether these are outright counterfeits, or if the factory is just over producing, in either case these will never be clubs that the manufacturer will stand behind. if titleist or callaway use a factory in china (or anywhere else) to produce clubs they have an agreement that is meant to prohibit the factory from doing anything like what is described in this thread. if you want real pro line clubs you are going to have to pay a decent amount of money, there's no way around it. i usually buy mint used clubs from sources i trust as the way to save some money, but it's not like a $700 set of irons is $300 in mint used condition either...probably more like $500 which is good enough to get me interested.
mrjeffo
New Member
posted: Sep. 17, 2009 @ 6:34p
This is a total SCAM!! I bought a Taylormade R9 driver and it didn't even have the hozzle adjustment to adjust the ball flight. I took it to golfsmith and they agreed that it was a total fake!
Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.
Members of our community may attach files to a post in accordance with the User Agreement. FatWallet is not responsible for the content, accuracy, completeness or validity of any information contained in any attached file. Files have *not* been scanned for viruses. Be especially wary of Excel files which may contain malicious content.