Smartphone overseas with no plan?

Archived From: Technology
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
Hi,
I am thinking about buying a smartphone android but am not sure if it will work the way I am thinking. I hope someone can help.

I am moving to Italy in 2 months and want to buy a phone that runs this program called Ankidroid (a flashcard program that works on the smartphone) but I also want to be able to buy a SIM card while I am there and have a local phone number. I don't want to buy a plan through any of the U.S. phone companies.

Is it possible to just buy a smartphone here in the states and then when I get to Italy buy a SIM card so that I can use the phone as an actual phone???

Thanks so much for any info you can give me. I am really new to all of this.

dynooutofstep

Member Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

You need an unlocked GSM smartphone that uses GSM-900 and GSM-1800 bands Look on eBay

You will need to investigate which prepaid and postpaid operators allow you to bring your own smartphone AND have data disabled (or make sure you set the phone to not use data)

Would this one work? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Permanent-Unlocked-Apple-iPhone-3G-Black...

There is so much information that I am a little overwhelmed... As long as it is "unlocked" and uses GSM-900 and GSM-1800 I don't need to buy a contract with a company to use it? I would really like to use the wifi and a few applications before I move to italy and buy a SIM card later to actually use the phone.

Thanks for your help and sorry for my ignorance.

dynooutofstep

Yes, looks like that one will work just fine
There are two issues here, techical and business
For the technology you need unlocked and GSM-900 and GSM-1800 as you said

On the business side, it is up to the operator to decide whether they sell
a) postpaid plans and require a contract
b) postpaid plans and support month-to-month
c) Sell prepaid plans