Drive image backup software

Archived From: Technology
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
I'm new to backups but wondering if there are any easy to understand software to make complete image backups of a whole drive? I tried Ghost but it is overly complicated and they have a one time backup but not sure if it is a true disk image since it is like vi2 files??

any suggestions for simple software to create like an ISO like image and be able to restore it later?

I don't care about personal data, I just want to be able to recover with clean windows with it decrapified and software I always use installed but nothing else. When I use PC recovery, it reinstalls crapware.

not sure if it matters but my drive it partitioned into 3 parts, os/data/recovery

Member Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I've been using an older version of Acronis True Image for years. I create a boot CD or bootable USB drive to boot directly into the program and make an image at least once a month. Saved my butt numerous times over the years.

What version of Windows? Windows 7 and 8 have a built in backup program that will create an image back up for you. No need for anything else for what you are after.

But the Ghost files are indeed a true image of the drive. They are in a proprietary format only used by Ghost, but still a completely good image that you can make a full restore from.

minidrag said:   What version of Windows? Windows 7 and 8 have a built in backup program that will create an image back up for you. No need for anything else for what you are after.

But the Ghost files are indeed a true image of the drive. They are in a proprietary format only used by Ghost, but still a completely good image that you can make a full restore from.

win 7, if I reformat the hard drive, will it reinstall the same as before I did reformat? just hit restore and it then boots up with all partitions and boot record and all?