click to close
help
edit

Forums
Travel Deals

REQUEST - eBay experience when booking a hotel?

  • filter:
  • Tell A Friend
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
  • switch to 'Classic' view
  • Go to Page :
  • 1 23458
rated:
alert mods    

Has Anyone ever gotten a hotel room via eBay?
I have found a few auctions that offer super discounted rates. One in particular I found was by a guy who said he OWNED a Junior Suite in Vegas and is renting it out.
He claims to be SquareTrade Verified, but honestly I have no idea what to verify when biding on something like this.
Some people have like 4 night stays for an X amount. Good prices. I'm actually planning on being there 4 nights anyway so this would work out well.

Please, someone give some feedback on this practice and let me know what to look for.

I looked for a while here and only found 1 Thread that mentioned anything on the subject.
But honestly not the sort of help i'm looking for.
Please help?

Bomdigity Travel ~ Las Vegas deals on ebay -- Legit????

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


rated:
alert mods    

Also, what about timeshares? Does anyone know how to Iron Clad the agreement? Or at least let me know when will I be certain that the room is Mine?

rated:
alert mods    

I purchased a "gift certificate" from eBay when rooms were going at a premium a couple years ago. It was NASCAR weekend and I said "what the heck" and purchased a three nights stay at Circus Circus for $100.

It worked out great. I was able to have a place to lay my head (I know it was CC) but I saved like $400 compared to what was avail. CC let me book the NASCAR weekend no problem.


I would suspect that the guy that says he "owns" the suite actually owns a timeshare in it. Ity is very common for people to try and sell their weeks on eBay.

I would just look at his feedback and if he has sold travel previously then it probably is ok.


Good luck

rated:
alert mods    

Anyone with any follow-up on this? I am also considering using bomdigity travel and looking for any experiences...

rated:
alert mods    

Yes, I have used eBay to book a stay at the Fairfield (now the Wyndham) Grand Desert in Las Vegas, which is a timeshare resort. I had no problems with it.

Like any auction, I would check the seller's reviews and what he/she has been reviewed on in the past (if he frequently sells timeshare stays and gets good ratings, that is a plus, rather than if his reviews are based on physical items he sells other than travel). Once the seller booked our stay, we made sure to confirm it with the hotel directly to make sure it was under our name. We also checked with the hotel again a couple of days before our stay to make sure our reservation was still solid.

I have also booked a stay at the same resort through a seller on Craigslist. This seller advertised on Craigslist as well as had his own website that made him even more trustworthy to me found at http://www.tsadventure.com/. This reservation went well as well.

Hope this helps a little.

Matthew

rated:
alert mods    

I just booked 5 days and 4 nights at the Signature at MGM Grand. I googled signature mgm and came up with a website. mgm condo rental

the guy replied back quickly and everything seemed fine. I also got a letter from Signature to confirm my reservation.

The deal was GREAT.

Signature Pricing (package discounted rate) $636.00
Discounted Total Price $457.54

http://www.mgmgrandcondos.com/

-brad

rated:
alert mods    

thanks all, but was particularly looking to see if anyone has experience with bomdigity travel...

rated:
alert mods    

My husband and I bought from bombdigity and if you search for them through traveladvisor.com you will find my postings. He works with Travel Insentives of America which has 1 complaint on the bbb.org site. I am waiting until july 6th (60 days before my trip) to call the hotel to confirm. I called planet hollywood (where we are staying) and the reservation lady said that they do work with a few "travel insentive" type places to bring business in. Our reservation wasn't in their system yet. Luis from Bomdigity says I can't check directly with the hotel until 60 days before departure.

I will let you know what happens, but whatever you do do not leave feedback without an actual hotel confirmation...I have no idea why people left feedback without it....crazy.

rated:
alert mods    

Hi,
I just bought 8 nights at the Marriott Marquis in New York City for $1100 ($400 of it is "refundable") from Bomdigity Travel (Luis Dardon) on eBay. I plan to go on spring break. I don't know if Bomdigity Travel is legit or not, but I paid through my Paypal account and used a credit card. Please let me know if your "certicates" work for your trip.
Thanks.

rated:
alert mods    

well i called the PH and they didn't have me down for a reservation. bomdigity travel says it might be until end of july "when i receive my travel packet" that I will be able to confirm with the hotel at that time. Just an update.

rated:
alert mods    

Any luck confirming your hotel?

rated:
alert mods    

Any news on this? I would love to know if this vendor is for real...

rated:
alert mods    

So far still nothing....i will still wait (yes I may be a fool...)

rated:
alert mods    

I just bought from Luis at bomdigity...this thread makes me a little nervous. I am traveling to NY in Sept for 4 nights. I will say that so far everything has gone exactly as he said it would but I have only received the preliminary confirmation on my dates. I have not even tried to call the hotel yet...I am hoping to have my "travel packet" by the end of August at the absolute latest. My travel dates are Sept 18-22 so we will see what happens. I will update as things move along.

rated:
alert mods    

I was just wondering do you have your travel packet yet?

rated:
alert mods    

no travel packet yet...Luis said 30-60 days before I depart.. but now he is saying different.. he now changed his listings to say you will receive your travel packet sometime before your trip. fishy if you ask me. I wrote him an email yesterday demanding he call this so called travel center and find out. I told him that there is no way he called them to see if our dates were available and now he can't call them again to see where the heck our travel packet is..?? sounds bogus to me. Yeah he seems nice for now but really he could really be taking all of our money and running with it. (I spoke to eBay and because its over 60 days old I have no recource. I will let you know what he writes back and if I ever get this so called travel packet...

rated:
alert mods    

I bought from him few weeks ago on eBay. So far what I got from him is a comfirmation email on my date. I asked about the "certificate" few times and he said he would send next day and three weeks later still nothing. He also says this certificate is meaningless because hotel does not recognize it and only the travel packet from the travel center is real but refuse to tell me the name of travel center. Few names he mentioned do not even exsiting when I look up.

I don't think we are protected by eBay as this transaction is considered "intangible". How do we get our money back if this is a fraud?
I still can leave feedback and file dispute but how about people bought long time ago?

rated:
alert mods    

If you paid with your credit card then you shouldn't have any problems contacting your credit card company and telling them you believe you bought something that was fraud...I have heard back from luis but it wasn't an answer to my question of when i'm going to get it so I will still wait.

rated:
alert mods    

Has anybody received the travel packet?

 Close

Sign Me In
Nickname: 
Password: 
Remember My Login Information:

Forget your login information?

Not Already A Member?
Sign Up Now!



Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.


  • © 1999-2008