• Page :
  • 1
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hello, all.
I wanted to thank this forum in general for helping us with this issue (from reading archived threads), so I thought I'd share my learning experience.

I'd reserved a hotel room for 5 days for myself and my sister-in-law & her daughter through Priceline's "name your own price" feature in CA (helping her move to new location while brother was out of town working). I chose a hotel room for "2 adults". When they informed me which hotel it was there were several photos of the hotel and information about it. Pictures showed only rooms with 2 double beds, which is what we wanted since I don't normally sleep with my sister-in-law.

I should add here that Priceline DID slip in their $25 insurance charge when I initially got the online reservation, so when I saw that I immediately called them and they agreed to refund that charge.

However, when we arrived, they informed us we had a reservation for a room with one king bed. They said we could upgrade to 2 double beds for I think about $20 more per night, but even that option wasn't available the first night. They didn't have roll-away beds either. I explained to them that these 2 adults do not sleep together and that their website showed only pictures of 2 beds in the rooms. We wanted to cancel and just go to another hotel so as not to have to sleep on the floor (and besides the price would be about the same as theirs at that point with the $20 upgrade), but new this was nearly impossible with a Priceline bid hotel.

I took a few minutes with my smartphone to look for advice and found some threads on this topic at the fatwallet forum...now mostly archived. Some had mentioned disputing the charge on the credit card if Priceline would not work with you (especially folks seemed to recommend AMEX). Fortunately, I'd used an AMEX to make the reservation, although I'm not sure whether that mattered for us. Repeatedly it was recommended NOT to stay in the hotel for even one night if you're going to try to cancel (which makes sense I guess).

So we went to another hotel that night.

We returned the next day and I asked to speak to the hotel manager (wasn't available). Oddly enough, they could not find my reservation in the hotel computer system (even though it WAS there the night before). I have no idea why this would be, but it seems to have worked to our advantage under the circumstances.

So I then called Priceline. I explained my issue but was transferred twice I believe. Finally spoke with someone who sounded like they may have some authority but we didn't get far into the discussion before the call was disconnected. I was on my cell but had 4 bars and plenty of battery, so not sure how I got disconnected. I saw that the call was already more than 30 minutes before the disconnection and I just didn't have the energy to start over at the time -- figured I just try to dispute it later and take my chances. I also called AMEX to see if they recommended I try anything else before resorting to disputing the charge, but the rep said they thought I'd done enough.

Well, a few days later I went to start the dispute process and noticed on my credit card that the entire Priceline charge had been credited back already! I imagine this was done by the Priceline rep (I guess he got enough info before we got disconnected?) and/or the hotel manager heard about the problem and advised Priceline to refund. Not sure, but just wanted to let people know that Priceline "name your own price" hotel reservation cancellations/refunds are possible and do exist!

Would recommend (as many others have) to just try to make due with the room you get even if it's not perfect because you're taking a risk trying to cancel here, but it can work out.

EDIT:
Just got an email about the refund from Priceline:

Dear XXX,

Thank you for your patience while we researched your issue with the (Hotel X in CA).

We contacted the hotel and verified that they were not able to locate your reservation when you tried to check-in for Request Number XXXXXXXXXXX.

We have issued a full refund back to your credit card in the amount of $XXX. Your refund will be processed by our system within 1 business day. It may take up to 5 business days for your bank to post the refund to your account. For your reference, your cancellation confirmation number is XXX.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you!

Sincerely,
XXXXX
Customer Relations Specialist


I also got this email:

Dear XXX,
A refund in the amount of $XXX will be placed on the credit card you provided to us upon submitting your request. If your reservation included travel insurance, then this refund does not include the travel insurance premium.

Your refund will be processed by our system within 1 business day. Please note, however, that your bank may withhold the refund from your account for up to 5 to 10 business days. If the refund has not posted to your account within 10 business days, we would suggest contacting your bank for further assistance.

We would like to remind you that this cancellation has been granted based on the extenuating circumstances related to your reservation. Under normal circumstances, reservations cannot be changed or cancelled.

Thank you,

Priceline.com Customer Service

Member Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

tobemd said:   Repeatedly it was recommended NOT to stay in the hotel for even one night if you're going to try to cancel (which makes sense I guess).

tobemd said:    Would recommend (as many others have) to just try to make due with the room you get even if it's not perfect because you're taking a risk trying to cancel here, but it can work out.

Huh? Also, this was not a cancellation but a refund for a lost reservation correct?

autologic said:   Huh?

+ 1

Disputing a credit card charge on the basis of "their website only showed pictures of rooms with double beds" is trying to back out of a deal you made.

When you book a room with Priceline it warns you:

Important Information

All rooms will accommodate up to 2 adults. Requests for bed types (King, Queen, 2 Doubles, etc.) or other special needs (including preferences for smoking or non-smoking rooms) should be requested through your confirmed hotel and cannot be guaranteed.


You booked a room with this understanding so how can you honestly dispute the fact that the hotel was not entitled to be paid for giving you a room under the conditions you agreed to? You simply thought you got lucky after the fact since the website did not show pictures of a room with one bed. If this was an issue you should have called the hotel ahead of time and asked for two double beds or simply booked via a method that would allow you to select a specific room.

What could anyone possibly learn from this wall of words?

I think everyone is right. One thing to learn: even the most efficient profit-making machine Priceline may still cave in under pressure and pay up.

It would be great to have a thread on all the subtle ways Priceline over-charges. I've noticed, trying to name own price on CARS, that although I bid low daily rate - the final all-inclusive rate was suddenly higher than simple Negotiator. It was obviously due to some Priceline's "profit" fee - which I've seen no direct disclosure of

I get caught by this often. Priceline guarantee a room that will sleep 2 people. This means a double-bed at worst. Some hotel (especially airport hotels in USA) seem to cater to the Priceline market. They will give you the absolutely lowest price, but will charge you for an extra bed, extra towel, parking, and internet.

The OP's situation is a fluke IMO. Also, I don't know how much you paid, but that sounds like a LOT of work and hassle. In the end, I think the hotel AND Priceline will win the arguement if they wanted to continue the dispute... by leaving the hotel the first night (even without checking in), they can cancel your reservation and legitimately charge your credit card...that is in the agreement. (Look under "no show").

OP made me suspicious when stating Priceline "DID slip in their $25 insurance charge". Every time I've booked a hotel room through Priceline, that insurance took an affirmative click of the box to add it. I've never seen this box pre-checked.

I also agree that the OP was lucky about the hotel not finding the reservation on the second day.

If you plan to use Priceline's Name Your Own Price option, you should be prepared to accept the limitations and the terms of their agreement. If you require specific bed arrangements (beyond their promise to provide a rooom that sleeps two), don't bid with Priceline.

I just want to know more about OP sharing a room with sister-in-law.

We had two rooms outside of NYC which we found Bedbugs after the first night, they moved us to another sister hotel nearby, after being on the phone with Priceline for over an hour, the hotel itself moved us, when I got my cc statement they had credited one night of the hotel stay. So it does help to contact them.

All rooms will accommodate up to 2 adults. Requests for bed types (King, Queen, 2 Doubles, etc.) or other special needs (including preferences for smoking or non-smoking rooms) should be requested through your confirmed hotel and cannot be guaranteed.

Yes, Priceline certainly has a LOT of mice type sprinkled througout -- suprised anyone really knows what they're agreeing to when they bid. I think if they are going to CHARGE EXTRA for 2 beds for 2 adults, they should say so before charging you. Not everyone sleeps together.

tobemd said:   All rooms will accommodate up to 2 adults. Requests for bed types (King, Queen, 2 Doubles, etc.) or other special needs (including preferences for smoking or non-smoking rooms) should be requested through your confirmed hotel and cannot be guaranteed.

Yes, Priceline certainly has a LOT of mice type sprinkled througout -- suprised anyone really knows what they're agreeing to when they bid. I think if they are going to CHARGE EXTRA for 2 beds for 2 adults, they should say so before charging you. Not everyone sleeps together.


It says it where you review your request right underneath the words:

Important Information

Which is both large type and bold - it can't be more clear.

It is also above where you initial showing you agree to the terms and conditions.

Not a whole lot to read through before you agree.

I have to jump a few hoops now that I am canceling my hotel in Vegas after an injury. I purchased Traveler's Insurance with Priceline and even with my doctors note I'm still getting hell from Priceline.



Disclaimer: By providing links to other sites, FatWallet.com does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked site to FatWallet.com.

Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

TRUSTe online privacy certification

While FatWallet makes every effort to post correct information, offers are subject to change without notice.
Some exclusions may apply based upon merchant policies.
© 1999-2014