Amazon Will Start Collecting Sales Tax Nationwide Starting April 1st

Archived From: Deal Discussion
  • Page :
  • Text Only
rated:
The final five states have been added to the list.

http://www.theverge.com/2017/3/24/15055662/amazon-us-sales-tax-c...

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Well there goes that.  Does it apply to Amazon as a middleman or third party?  If so, does Jet do the same thing, maybe its time for a new king?

They do not collect sales tax for third party sellers, but you owe use tax.

As a Delaware resident I am unfamiliar with and confused the concept of this "sales tax" thing you speak of. The government charges you to buy stuff?

SoulAssassin said:   As a Delaware resident I am unfamiliar with and confused the concept of this "sales tax" thing you speak of. The government charges you to buy stuff?
  In your state they charge you for working...basically, you are their slave!

Delaware also charges $4.00 for folks passing through I-95.

April Fools.. wait this is real? Oh well, it was great while it lasted for the last several states.

pkny said:   Delaware also charges $4.00 for folks passing through I-95.

Thank you for further helping to lower my taxes, the locals know where to get on 95 to avoid that. 

Work with me here people, it's not often that Delaware residents get to brag so let me enjoy my moment in the spotlight lol

SoulAssassin said:   

Thank you for further helping to lower my taxes, the locals know where to get on 95 to avoid that. 

Work with me here people, it's not often that Delaware residents get to brag so let me enjoy my moment in the spotlight lol

...and the no-locals know where to exit, take a bathroom break, see Delaware stadium at the corner, then re-enter the freeway, thus saving the toll.  

I don't know what the fuss is about.
I have been paying "Use Tax" on all my Amz purchases in my state.