owning and managing a mid size apartment building

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I have personal experience owning/renting/managing single family homes and duplexes.  I have generally preferred the single family homes.  In the neighborhoods I feel most comfortable, these are roughly $100,000 homes that rent at around 1% of that per month.

I was browsing MLS listings the other day and ran across a much larger property that I have no experience with.  For about $600k, there is a 24 unit building available.  Rectangular basic box shape, all brick, built in 1964, total sq ft about 16k, sitting on about 1 acre.

Granted these are small units at 670 sq ft and very plain inside.  But they are kept up, in good shape, and the building is fully leased at around $600/month.  It is listed as "commercial", I don't know what tax implications that brings about.

This is the first time I've even looked at something like this and the numbers look too good to be true.  Even if 4 of 24 units goes vacant, we are talking a monthly rental intake of 2% of purchase cost, double what many here on FW would consider investment grade.

I have the skills to handle all mild to moderate repair and updates myself.  If I quit my job, I would have the time to manage the 24 units.  (Let's leave that angle out of this thread for now.)

I'd love to hear from other people that have buildings in this general size range.  Do you find that the cookie cutter design makes repairs easier, because you know what to expect in each unit?  Do you find that common area repairs (roof, drive, parking), while being more expensive and requiring a lot of cash, are easier to manage as projects, than having several smaller properties to juggle and visit?  Wouldn't the lost income when someone moves out be much lower than a single family home because a smaller fraction of my investment is unrented at any given time?