Best Options If Income Drops While Having a Low Payoff Mortgage?

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I had been making accelerated payments for several years and at this rate, my home mortgage is only a few years away from being paid off.  However, I may need to leave my job and go on disability retirement at a much reduced income level before I get it fully paid off. Loan payoff amount is under $50K

What are the best options?
Pay off  loan balance by emptying savings?
Refinance low loan balance while still employed so I have super low payments after leaving employment?
Sell house and buy lower priced home for cash (in a lower cost of living state) despite losing realtor fees, home fix-up costs to prepare for sale, closing costs, moving expenses etc,?

Without a mortgage, I estimate the monthly fixed costs of property taxes, insurance and HOA to be about $500 per month at my current home.  The other housing-related expenses would be utilities (gas, electric, water, garbage, internet/economy basic cable plus a healthy $200 per month fund for saving for home repair/maintenance (future $10K HVAC replacement and other repairs as the place ages) would total about $500 so total housing expenses should be a bit under $1000 per month all inclusive.
I can rent the spare bedroom to a lodger for $500, so my net cost for housing could be as low as $500 per month without moving if the mortgage was paid off.
If I refinanced the loan balance, I would have to add the mortgage payment to that cost.
I expect to net about $2000 monthly income plus medical insurance from the disability pension.  In another 15 to 20 years, I could apply for social security and have that income too and not deal with having to rent the spare room any more at that age.  I think I should be set for life then as long as I don't have any long term care expenses.