• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Going to get solar and a new hvac system.  Total project will be about $30k.  Once I stopped crying, I confirmed that they will take split payments across as many CC's as I want.  So I want to maximize my miles and points opportunities.  I might as well get a free trip (or two) out of this. Both my wife and I have a credit score over 800 and I will pay them all off immediately.

Any recommendations on how to maximize the bonus points/miles?  I currently have an offer from AA for 50k miles after $3k spend so I'll do that one.  What else is good out there?

Thanks in advance.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Perfect time to do AOR for all the account opening bonuses that require minimum spend. Cash back % on transactions is not completely meaningless, but definitely a secondary concern.

Sorry I'm new at the game.  AOR is app-o-rama?  What's the best resource to consult the strategy?

Yes AOR is app-o-rama. I would use google to search for "new credit card signup bonus."

If I'm reading this right, if you are a new Discover cardmember, you could get 10% back for Hardware store purchases made before Sep 30.

5% bonus for their rotating categories, and it gets match after your first year of cardmembeship, new cardmembers only.

​Edited to add: Sorry, I keyed off the title "home improvements" and assumed you were spending 30k at hardware stores, but I re-read your OP and you didn't say that.

Really depends on what kind of travel you're looking for. AA is a good idea IMO, both you and your wife might be able to get two cards each (personal / business) and net a total of 200k AA pts in bonuses. There're also Southwest cards that can get you 50k pts per card (and a companion pass), United card, CSP, Delta AMEX and other cards that can net you $500+ in value for the sign-up.