• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
One of my friends recently interviewed directly with a large company and they extended him an offer to be a contractor. They will not hire him directly as an individual and he must instead be contracted through an agency. They do not care which agency he is contracted through. From my understanding, if he were to work through an agency they would take a 10-20% cut off the contract for doing absolutely nothing on their end.

1. Why won't the company contract with my friend directly? It seems like a direct contract with my friend would avoid going through a middleman.
  2. Would it be worthwhile for my friend to setup an LLC to "contract" himself out to the hiring company?

Curious to hear if any FWFers have gone through a situation similar to this.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I'm not a lawyer. But I believe it's because for the company to protect itself from having CA claim that your friend is an employee.

There are many tests for who qualifies as an independent contractor vs an employee on the Federal level. On top of that, CA is a very pro employee state. Recently, CA ruled the UBER drivers are employees and not IC. For an employer, hiring someone as an IC is beneficial. Not only do they not have to pay 1/2 of SS/Medicare tax, they do not have to do all the things that are required of employees, like withholding tax, workman's comp insurance, disability claims, work hours/labor laws, etc.

If the company contracts with your friend directly, then that may set up an employer-employee relationship regardless of what any contracts state. However, if they go through a 3rd party agency, then there is without a doubt no employer-employee relationship.