• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
So I have a family member that is a hairdresser.  Up until now she has always worked for others.  She's now about to rent a chair and needs to set up her own business and has asked me for advice.  I have experience setting up an LLC, Sole Proprietorship, Solo-401k, and some other things that are pertinent.  But I'm not an expert in the ins-and-outs of the best approach a hairdresser should take.

Some initial advice she got:
1) Buy liability insurance.
2) Get an EIN.
3) Get a Sales & Use Tax something-or-other (so that she can sell products).
4) Set up an LLC
5) Get a separate business checking account.

Advice items 1-3 made sense to me.

I think that #2 is primarily to facilitate #3, and on that point...

Someone else told her #3 was overkill at her early stage in the game and she could just buy the products at regular price and resell without needing to charge tax again (since she'd be paying tax herself, she wouldn't need to double-charge tax to resell - or something like that - to be honest, I didn't completely follow what this other person advised her on this particular topic).

#4 seems unnecessary to me, because: a) I previously found setting up an LLC to be more complex, more costly, and state-specific (if you move, you have to shut it down and set up a new one in your new state), and from some things I've read, if someone really wants to sue you and can spend the money on it, they can "pierce the veil", and b) Buying liability insurance (even as a Sole Proprietor) gets you all of the advantages that an LLC promises without any of the added hassle/expense.