• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
Newbie here. Please let me know if I posted it wrong place, or done anything wrong. Write many FAQs here, please be nice to me

Also, any recommended way to shop mortgage rates. I have looked at bank rate, lending tree , costco ... but haven't officially asked for any quotes yet with the fear of credit pulls.

I'm in SF bay area. with excellent credit history 740+.

Thank you, good to be here.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Yes credit pull will hit your credit.

But if you apply for multiples all at the same time then they will be treated as one hit on your credit rather than ding you separately. The credit raters realize people shop around for rates like this so they allow for it. But make sure the applications are not spread out over time.

rated:
Zillow

rated:
The ding from a hard pull is small and short-lived. If you were around 700-720 then the drop might matter, but with a score over 740 a hard pull won't have any practical impact.

Multiple pulls for mortgage quotes in a short time period get lumped together, so once you get one pull there is no risk in getting several others to try to find the best rate.

rated:
In theory, multiple pulls for mortgage quotes get lumped together, but that's only if they accurately code the pulls.  They likely use a third party company to obtain the credit information.  If it's not coded properly, they will not lump together for the score calculation.  Plus, the "second"(or later) application will always factor in at least the first inquiry.