• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I've been with Wells Fargo for my workhorse checking account since I graduated high school. The only thing I like about them is their wide ATM availability and the fact that most of their ATMs allow check/cash deposits. It's time for a change.

I like the fact that WF has a lot of ATMs all over the place, but if you're ever stuck somewhere without one and you need to use another bank's ATM, you're pretty screwed. You get to pay the ATM fee plus WF's $2.50 fee for using an outside ATM. Heaven forbid you're outside the USA, you'll pay $5 per ATM transaction.

I'm not looking to earn interest or bonuses off this account or anything, I just want some truly free checking that has widely available free ATM usage, preferably with ATMs that take deposits. Does this exist anymore? Or possibly a bank that will readily refund ATM fees imposed by outside ATMs?

If it matters I typically keep $5,000-$10,000 in my checking account.   Also I live in northern NJ and work in NYC.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Fidelity said I had to have $10 in my brokerage account before allowing me to make mobile deposits in my checking accoun... (more)

qcumber98 (Sep. 20, 2016 @ 2:57p) |

Not carrying $500-1000 around with me isn't an "irrational fear" (although cash is certainly riskier than plastic), but ... (more)

cestmoi123 (Sep. 20, 2016 @ 4:03p) |

They don't have CREDIT cards but they almost all have a DEBIT card, most of which have Visa/MC logos on it.  Even many p... (more)

RedWolfe01 (Sep. 20, 2016 @ 9:38p) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Try Ally. It uses cardtronics ATMs which are all over. Unlimited checks as well.

rated:
Schwab. Zero fees for any ATM on earth. You pay the ATM fee and are refunded it at the end of the month.

Cannot deposit cash easily but checks deposit via app and clear in an hour or less for me.