• Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Our parents have always planned to give the house to me, my brother and my sister. However since they're working and have their own families, the house was sold to me 4 years ago and is only under my name.  However, I'd like to move out one day and my brother has agreed to help me pay for a few years.  He'd like to in a way, invest in the house as well.  My only question is how do we split up the ownership of the house?  We don't want to add his name to the mortgage because it will affect him when he gets his own house in about five years or so. Also we'd have to refinance again at a higher rate most likely, I'm currently at 3.625% 30years fixed.

Eventually we would sell the house or rent it out after I get  my own place, and my parents move out. I was thinking if he pitches in for five years, that's 60 months.  So 60 months of out the 312 months remaining on the mortgage (I've been paying myself for 48 months so far) would be 19.2%.  Go by a percentage of the value of the house when we sell it.

I'm still trying to grapple with how we'll handle the property taxes which comes out to about $725/mo. 

Any ideas on how else I could handle this?

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I'm not Asian, but I'm part of an Asian family... and it is common for everyone to owe each other hundreds of thousands ... (more)

Crazytree (Oct. 09, 2016 @ 4:54a) |

You forgot to mention that he bought it at $300K+ less than fair market value, and was gifted $150K for the downpayment.... (more)

Chyvan (Oct. 09, 2016 @ 5:38a) |

Yeah. On a strict arms-lemgth deal, the owners would each own a third and be responsible for upkeep and financing. The o... (more)

TravelerMSY (Oct. 09, 2016 @ 1:59p) |

Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

My head hurts...

How was it "sold" to you when your parent intended to pass it on to all 3 siblings?