Dad has $200K to deploy in retirement, thoughts?

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
So as a preface I work in the investment industry and have a degree in Finance. - Not wagging titles here just a competency heads up. - Having said that, my father just recently retired with a pension, social security, and also has $200K of personal savings to invest. His work sponsor instantly wants to throw him in a tax-advantaged annuity. The attraction there is obviously tax benefit plus a consistent monthly payment as income... but my first thought is... let's not jump into anything here. He's 67 and clearly preservation and conservatism is key here, but does anybody have any opinions here? I know there's so many progressive investment options these days and I feel like he could potentially find a way to make some of this money work for him, but in the end, it's not my money and I do want him to be safe, first and foremost. 

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

What's a work sponsor?

How much income with the pension?

What tax advantages are you imagining?

Post the details of the annuity. It's almost certainly a bad idea.

200k isn't much for retirement savings, at least in terms of liquidity.

How recently did he retire? Does SSA plus pension meet his budgeted needs? Does it 'just' meet his needs or is he banking money each month?

Assuming 'just retired' means a couple months, he should do nothing and simply wait 6-12 months to get a feel for his retirement budget (nothing beats experience) before deciding.

wilked said:   How recently did he retire? Does SSA plus pension meet his budgeted needs? Does it 'just' meet his needs or is he banking money each month?

Assuming 'just retired' means a couple months, he should do nothing and simply wait 6-12 months to get a feel for his retirement budget (nothing beats experience) before deciding.

+1