• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I've never used small claims court before and I am a little hesitant. My two options are to sue her directly through small claims, or use an attorney who wants to sue the insurance company. I would have to pay the attorney 40% and my claim is only for around $7k. Here is my situation:

Nearly two years ago on 10/28/14 a woman did a hit and run on my car in California. She was caught, taken to jail and now nearly two years later I've been subpoenaed to appear in court because the state is suing her for a DUI. Her lawyer has pushed the case back and back until finally, she failed to appear and now has a bench warrant out for her arrest. I've given the court a "Victim Impact Statement" describing what happened and the diminished value to my car, with a full diminished value (DV) report from a firm I hired to create it. The paperwork prepared by the firm states that I am owed $7k in diminished value

Last year I submitted the DV report and several responses back and fourth with her insurance, all through mail to have evidence and of course they are denying responsibility. Their reason being a prior fender bender that my car was involved in before I bought the car, maybe a $1000 claim for a tiny dent. Otherwise, my car had been in pristine condition, two months out of the 5 years 100K mile warranty.

I've spoken to an attorney that was recommended to me by the firm that prepared my DV report. This attorney "would love to represent me" for 40%, but won't do it any less since it is only a $7k claim. So I decided I should do the small claims and he recommended that I seek "punitive damages" as well to make the insurance company take my claim more seriously.