• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I am close to 34 years old, engaged, getting married in 2017.  Kid likely in 2017 or 2018, also likely to buy a house in 2017 or 2018 as well (currently renting in a big city).  I make anywhere between $120k and $200k gross depending on the year (I'm in sales).  Fiance makes between $30k-$100k as she is starting her own business.  No debt at all between the two of us. Fiance has a marginal amount of savings.  Got a late start, but otherwise I have been maxing 401k and Roth IRA for the last 3 years.   

As for savings I currently have:
Pure retirement:
$22k in Roth IRA
$125k in 401k

Liquid:
$125k in cash
$55k in vanguard funds/etf's

Possible house purchase would likely be between $500-$650k.

I hate to see the $125k just sitting in cash, but at the same time I am hesitant to drop it in the market and then see the market trend dowards and then ultimately have to pull money out for a down payment in the next year or two and having lost money.

1.  Given my situation, is buying a house in the next 2 years the right move?
2.  In the meantime, how would you handle managing my cash vs. savings in preparation of needing money for  a down payment? 

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
buy it now, the market will only go up

rated:
1. Can't answer if buying a house in next two years is right move. Highly personal decision based on numerous factors, only some of which you control. You seem to able to afford to do so. Recommend you evaluate reason for wanting to buy a house, running the numbers on a tool like this rent vs. buy calculator, and going from there. Given you seem to be able to afford it, main question to ask yourself is how long you plan to be in that home and whether you think the local real estate market is a good investment or not (e.g. bubble, no upside, etc.)