• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I have 17k carry forward loss coming from last year. This year i have chevron CVX stock where i am making about 10k in positive. I am thinking of selling my CVX stock to cover 10k from my last years' loss. i am also thinking of buying CVX stock again the next day after selling it.

My question is, 

1 - By selling my CVX stock, Can i cover the 10k from my last year's carry forward loss(17k) and don't pay any tax this year on the 10k profit ? so after this only 7k will be carried forward to next year.

2 - If i buy the CVX again the next day after selling it, Will it have any impact on what i am trying to achieve above ?.... i mean wash sale only applies on the loss if we buy the same stock within 30 days but in my case, i am selling a stock with profit and buying it again the next day.

What you guys think ? please help ....i am not a expert in this area.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Since you describe the aunt as dying penniless, perhaps someone else was paying her expenses. If the payor held stock wi... (more)

HKnight (Dec. 01, 2016 @ 7:10p) |

JW10 (Dec. 02, 2016 @ 12:51a) |

You hit the nail on the head.  My mother was paying whatever expenses weren't covered by my aunt's social security.  Gif... (more)

DTASFAB (Dec. 02, 2016 @ 8:27a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Yup - no tax on 10k. Plus you can still write off another 3k - so only 4k carried forward.

you dont even have to wait for the next day - you can do it on the same day 5 mins later. Wash sale rule only applies to losses - irs is happy to see you take gains. 

The last interesting wrinkle is that if you have short term loss, don't want to wipe that with long term gain or convert what could be long term gain by selling to early just to wipe out the loss. Do you keep mutual funds? wipe the loss with mutual fund distributions.

rated: