• Text Only
Voting History
rated:
So a quick about me to give you an idea to what is going on. 

I'm age 30 and  I have wanted to go to school ever since I graduated High School. But I didn't go because my parents said we didn't have the money for me to go and they didn't know about financial programs that would've made it very possible for me to go. I ended up in factory work and migrated into sales. I sold insurance and then cars for over a year. I got tired of just feeling unhappy, unfulfilled. Well I made the decision to go back to school. I have a bit of savings to cover a month or two of bills so I quit the car business so I could focus on getting everything in order for school. It was also going to be very difficult getting everything set up to go to school in a few weeks while at a car lot for 12 plus hours a day. 

My plan was to get a part time job and a student loan to help cover the portion of living expenses the part time job didn't provide for. Then the school I'm going to be attending turned everything I had figured out up to this point on it's head. They don't participate in student loans. So I began looking into a personal loan and was told that this won't work without collateral equal to the amount of the loan I needed. Not to mention the monthly payment would be above $1,000  per month because they could only offer a maximum 3 year term. I was told even though my school doesn't participate in student loan programs that I could still look into a private student loan such as Sallie Mae. 

I contacted Sallie Mae almost immediately and was told because my school does not have a working relationship with them I will not be able to get a private loan through them either. Now I have no idea what to do and was hoping someone with more knowledge/experience could help me figure this out since all of my options that looked to be good ones have turned out to be bad.