Current Loan Balance: 160K
Current Interest rate: 4.05 %
Current Estimated Property Value: 250K
Monthly Mortgage Payment: 1007
Monthly HOA Payment: 175
Monthly Rent: 1750
Property Management Fees: 175
Cash Flow: 393

The property is an excellent school district which I have been renting out for the last 3 years and has never been on the market more than week before getting rented.

Should I keep renting it out/Sell it (anyway to avoid the tax hit)/tap into the equity to buy another rental or a primary residence?

I currently live in a different state and kind of screwed up not buying the house in 2013. Now the prices are up significantly and I am worried buying at the current price levels. So renting at a pretty decent rental rate.

Thank You.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Keep renting.

BAREBEL said:   
Current Estimated Property Value: 250K
Monthly Rent: 1750

It doesn't meet the 1% test. Would you buy a $250k house to rent it out for $1,750 if you didn't already own it?

I'd sell it, especially considering your cost basis and potential tax liability.

So you rent your own house now and would like to buy a house to live in.
This isn't just a buy/sell choice for the rental.
Its choosing between 1) sell the rental and buy a primary house or 2) keep the out of state rental and continue to rent your own home.
Right?

How much does the rent cost you in your house and how much to houses cost locally?

Can you afford to buy a house without selling that rental?

What state/city is the rental and where do you live now?

supersnoop00 said:   It doesn't meet the 1% test. Would you buy a $250k house to rent it out for $1,750 if you didn't already own it?

I'd sell it, especially considering your cost basis and potential tax liability.

After I read this 1% rule is when I decide to start this thread and ask the experts. If I sell it I will have to pay taxes on the proceeds or is there a way I can avoid that?