Wrongful levy

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this I am 18 and just checked my bank account app to find that my bank account has been frozen by the Orange County Sheriff department. (I live in san Bernardino county I haven't lived in Orange County since I was 5) So I checked my message center and received a message that my account has been served a "levy" I had no clue what this was and I did research ago learn that a creditor can do this. I do not owe any credito 3.5k. I only have two cards and barely have had my first job this year so I don't understand how it could be an IRS levy. If someone could help me understand or tell me what to do that would be great.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

emmalopezninja said:   Hi everyone,

I'm new to this I am 18 and just checked my bank account app to find that my bank account has been frozen by the Orange County Sheriff department. (I live in san Bernardino county I haven't lived in Orange County since I was 5) So I checked my message center and received a message that my account has been served a "levy" I had no clue what this was and I did research ago learn that a creditor can do this. I do not owe any credito 3.5k. I only have two cards and barely have had my first job this year so I don't understand how it could be an IRS levy. If someone could help me understand or tell me what to do that would be great.

Call the bank and ask who the creditor is. Then get an attorney and have them set aside the levy. 

Contact the bank for more detail then contact the court or county treasurer for more information.  When you get it resolved, check your credit reports for related information on your credit reports.

Hopefully some moron attached your account for the debts of somebody else and it'll be relatively easy to straighten out.