• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I exceeded the standard Roth income limits for contribution in 2016. Attempting to follow some Roth "back door" conversion steps at the last minute on Friday 12/30/2016, the Fidelity rep stated there was not enough time for the 2016 Roth conversion to take place. So now that I effectively have a 2016 Traditional IRA, should I just fund it for 2017 limits then do the Roth conversion for all funds in the IRA?  Funds for both 2016/17 will be from after-tax source. TIA

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
I'm not an expert on this, but it sounds ok to me.  I did something similar: in March 2010 I made a $5000 traditional IRA contribution for 2009, and another $5000 contribution for 2010; then I converted all $10,000 to a Roth IRA.

rated:
Do you have any gains in the TIRA? Do you have other TIRAs?

rated:
It doesn't matter whether you convert your 2016 TIRA and then contribute/convert your 2017 TIRA, or contribute to your 2017 TIRA and then convert the whole amount, then end result is about the same. You will need to be more careful when you fill out the forms to file your tax 2017 tax return since the contribution and conversion are done in different years, but no harm done unless you make a mistake on your tax return.

If you have pre-tax dollars in any TIRA, then you can try isolating basis to minimize taxes.

rated:
8hygro said:   I exceeded the standard Roth income limits for contribution in 2016. Attempting to follow some Roth "back door" conversion steps at the last minute on Friday 12/30/2016, the Fidelity rep stated there was not enough time for the 2016 Roth conversion to take place. So now that I effectively have a 2016 Traditional IRA, should I just fund it for 2017 limits then do the Roth conversion for all funds in the IRA?  Funds for both 2016/17 will be from after-tax source. TIA