Advise a 34 y/o who's late to the game ~

Archived From: Finance
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi All,

Late to the game but hopefully not too late. I graduated from University in 2015, got a decent job, recently payed off 25K in student loans and stored up 9.5K in emergency savings.

At this point I'd like to start setting up my finances for success in the future, but when it comes to talking finances I feel a bit like a fish out of water. I find myself unsure about what to do. Should I open an account with Fidelity? A Roth Account? A Traditional IRA Account? Or a Cash Management Account? Should I do something else entirely?

Bit about me:

• 34 years of age
  • Recently married
  • Income of $63K (wife not currently working but will be soon)
  • My employer does not offer matching 401K contributions
  • Currently have 9.5K emergency savings
  • Just finished school, payed off 25K in student loans
  • No debts at all
  • Expenses: 1.8K-2K/mo
  • No savings beyond emergency savings

So what are my next steps? 

My future goals include starting my own business (for which I will need savings) along side my full-time job, buying property & home, starting a family, and down the road being able to care for my aging father, while leaving something for my family after I am long gone.

I have a lot of catching up to do, and it seems to me to make this all happen I will certainly need to be making more than I currently am - so I am hopeful I can grow a business. It seems to me that the smartest thing would be to open a Roth IRA and begin funneling what I can into that, while being conscious of the fact that I will need money set aside to begin a business.

Does this make sense? How would you all advise me to proceed with my finances?

Thank you much.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I am not starting just yet. These are the early days. Much research to do and work to be done. If you have any good read... (more)

xxxkxxx (Jan. 10, 2017 @ 8:21p) |