• filter:
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
This is my first post here, so let me go ahead and say thank you for reading this. I hope that you can give me better advice than those in my immediate surroundings have. I really need it.

I work as an entry level indie computer game programmer that has a bit of creative aspect to it. I write dialog and write out gameplay code and content. It's the best job I've ever had. Before it, I was working at a fast food resteraunt and in automotive retail for about $9-12.00 an hour part time, which gave me about $400-500 dollar paychecks. I own a newer car now, not driving around a pile of junk. I live on my own, with two roommates - BUT and a big BUT - I only earn $28,000 a year BEFORE taxes. I'm a 1099 and I've been doing this for about two years now, and between now and then I've gotten my associate's degree in computer science. 

Here's the problem.

I'm in about $30k in debt. I owe $12,000 in Credit Cards, $10,000 on the car, $5000 in student loans, and my expenses are about $1700 a month (car, electric, cable, rent, insurance, auto bill, student loans). I earn about $2400 a month without taxes, leaving me about $600 a month to spend on groceries, food, gas, etc. (It's been less recently because I've been going into overdraft on my account. My wage sucks so I'm dipping into credit cards to pay off things.) Taxes I haven't been able to pay for last year either, I owe $1500 federal and $600 state for 2015, and even more for 2016.  I literally don't know what to do at this point because.I can't find another job, and here's why: Game development isn't seen as real programming in the computer science industry, In the area I live every job in my field around here requires a security clearance. In addition I do not have a bachelors degree so it's next to impossible for me to find another job (It's a miracle I got this one).