Starting a Business- Need CC/App-O-Rama advice

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hello all- long time lurker but always enjoy the FW community!  Let me begin by stating my intentions, I am going to use credit cards (0%) to jumpstart a business. My background is in finance and I understand the risks of using credit cards, but with my combination of partners and experience I am quite confident in our success.  We will not be cash flow positive until months 6-7, with actual profitable ROI coming around month 12/13.  I will be putting in $100,000 for 12% of the company.  We are also floating this around with some Private Equity people, so that number could be more or less depending on external valuations. I am going to give a somewhat thorough description of my finances, so everyone can make appropriate recommendations. Thanks in advance!

About me:
29 years old (married), wife is working full time. We combined for $220k in income in 2016 per w2, my income excluding investments was $174k of that total. My home was purchased in 2014 for $189k, I have it paid down to $138k.
My wife owes approx. $92k in student loans, $49k will be forgiven once she reaches 10 years employment with her job (5 years from now). I make absolute minimums on the forgivable loans, and 2x-3x monthly payments on the non-forgivable loans (paying highest interest rates down first).
I have $82k liquid cash, $42k in retirement, and her teacher’s pension fund which is currently valued at $14k. Approx. another $20-25k in tangible assets (vehicles/jewelry/artwork/furniture etc).
My major concern is being without MY income for the next 6-12 months, I will be cash flow negative for quite a while, hence the 0% credit cards look attractive as a bridge.

My current credit: