Small Business Taxes -- Expenses Incurred Before LLC Formation and in Separate Years

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hey everyone -- I spent some time on google but frankly couldn't find much in terms of definitive answers. I am a novice when it comes to small business taxes so please bear with me:

I recently started a small specialized photography side business that fills a niche market in the civil engineering world...the rest of the details probably aren't relevant. I decided to start this business in November 2016 and proceeded to invest around $2,000 into it, primarily for equipment. I spent November and December setting things up and getting everything nailed down. Finally formed the LLC (sole membership, just me) in Florida in late January 2017.

My first question is will I have any issues claiming those expenses since they occurred prior to LLC formation?

My second question is can I somehow sell the equipment to myself (specifically the LLC) in 2017 and then just claim the expenses as being part of 2017? I could then just lump all the expenses into tax year 2017.

I have brought in around $350 in revenue so far in 2017, no revenue in 2016.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
  • Also categorized in:
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

Not having an llc doesn't prevent you from taking honest business deductions. Take them in 2016.

To answer your main question - yes, as long as there's nothing excessive you should be able to get away with lumping it all under 2017 LLC expenses.  To be clear, you would be getting away with it, it wouldnt be "proper".  But even if caught, it'll probably be ignored as long as the deductions are legit just claimed in the wrong year, since there's nothing to be gained.