Health insurance for sibling

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Good evening. 

I am in need of your opinions. My younger brother is 20 and a full time student. He has two jobs but they are both part time. One is Best Buy after school and the other is waitressing at night on saturdays and Sunday's. Neither job offers health for part time. I am an accountant and make about 50,000. I am 24 but he is not considered to the health insurance company at my work as my dependent even through he is my dependent on taxes. He lives with me (he pays about 30% of bills) and I pick up the rest. He has health ins through the affordable care act but I had to forgo claiming him this year because he would not qualify for the ACA if I did. 

I am giving up about 3,000-4,000 in tax money by not claiming him. Does any know of any work around? Any ideas? 

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

You 'forgo' $3000 in taxes, but he 'gains' up to $3000 in his own taxes you know.
ACA is the only way to get him insurance as he is over 20 and he's not your 'son'.

BTW you don't have to forgo the dependent clause, but if you want him to get the most 'discount' then you have to.
https://www.healthcare.gov/young-adults/coverage/

monthendclose said:   My younger brother ... has two jobs ... the other is waitressing at night on saturdays and Sunday's. 
  I am intrigued. Please elaborate.

wpgabriel said:   
monthendclose said:   My younger brother ... has two jobs ... the other is waitressing at night on saturdays and Sunday's. 

http://www.hamburgermarys.com/weho/