I Feel Stuck Financially

Archived From: Finance
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
This being my first FWF post, I'm not sure how to properly approach it... but I feel stuck financially.

I'm a 21yr old college student who isn't necessarily in a bad position, but would like to financially grow. I've saved up about $30,000 & have no expenses. I will graduate with only about 10k owed & will have a degree in Finance. 
I never really "splurge" on shopping and stupid expenses. The most unnecessary thing I probably spend my money on is going out for food too much (which is never really expensive food). I've always held a job, but have gotten laid off in the last year and figured I'd take the opportunity to stack up on credits and finish school.

Out  of the 30k I have, 20k of that is used in my stock portfolio and I casually day trade throughout the week. Sometimes I do well for the week and obviously sometimes I do poorly. I tend to go for the riskier investments  just out of fun & adrenaline, more profitable, and I highly believe that I'm young and should be high risk (as long as its MANAGED risk). 
In 2014 I launched a business which had more unprofitable weeks than profitable ones so as a result, I decided to close the business in 2016. Managing my business and  also working full-time felt great, even if the business was a failure in the end - this might be because I felt productive and I was proud of myself for attempting something.