• filter:
  • Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I recently inherited a house which is now my primary residence. It has 19 years existing on a mortgage. 

Since I'm fairly new to homeownership, I'm wondering what others would recommend I do. Should I add an extra $680 (this is what I can comfortably afford) to my payment per month and pay off the loan in 8.5 years? Or, since the house is old and needs updating (kitchen hasn't been touched much since the 50s, shower needs to be redone), should I refinance to take $50k out and extend the loan to 30 years? 

I'm not sure if there's a right answer, but how would you all go?

Thanks for any advice.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
i would go with HELOC or fixed Home Equity Loan. If you refi - remember you'll have about few thousands worth of closin... (more)

prozario (Feb. 27, 2017 @ 1:28p) |

Refi. Based on the rates you get, you maybe able to afford a 10 or 15yr.

rsuaver (Feb. 28, 2017 @ 11:46p) |

This seems like a very odd "this or that" decision.

1) Accelerate payments on the house
-or-
2) Cash out refi to renovate/... (more)

Dus10 (Mar. 01, 2017 @ 7:24a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
What interest rate is the existing mortgage?

Who's name is the mortgage in?

rated:
refi

rated:
depending on what you've got saved and what your plans for the house are, you could also not refi and instead pay cash for the updates as money becomes available

rated:
jerosen said:   What interest rate is the existing mortgage?

Who's name is the mortgage in?

Existing rate is 3.75 and it is now in my name. 

rated:
damastaodisasta said:   depending on what you've got saved and what your plans for the house are, you could also not refi and instead pay cash for the updates as money becomes available