HELP!!! Budgeting/Retirement/Planning

Archived From: Finance
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Hi guys. I'm 31 years old and I still have no idea how to budget. It's a constant struggle. I really want to be able to retire one day and not have to live like my parents, pay check to paycheck while still in their late 50's. I've just stopped working because I'm on bed rest for my 2nd and last pregnancy. After that I'll be a stay at home mom for several years (I'm a teacher so it's not worth it to work and pay childcare). My husband makes good money but I have awful health (I have CVID, a lifelong costly condition) which guarantees I will always meet my out of pocked max for health care. We pay a babysitter to be with our son while I'm at doctor appts all month.  I'm really not sure how to work the copays into our budget or how to work playing off credit cards in our budget. My out of pocket max this year is $5 which I'm about to meet. Then we've having a baby in July so he'll reach his deductible ($1500) We owe about $22k (13% interest) in credit cards, and I have $20k in student loans (5% interest). I only pay the minimum on the student loan. We also spend an additional $300 a month in supplements alone which isn't factored into our budget right now. We have about $3k in savings too. I honestly don't know where to start. Neither of us had good examples for saving or budgeting growing up but we want to do better for ourselves and our sons.   This is our current budget with only my husband's income. 

Here is our current income.
<!--td {border: 1px solid #ccc;}br {mso-data-placement:same-cell;}-->
Total Income $ 6,400.00

Credit Card ?
Health Care Payment 650
House $ 1,800.00
SRP $ 350.00
COX $ 55.00
Phone $ 75.00
Car Payments $ 570.00
Student Loan $ 140.00
House Gas $ 250.00
Car Gas $ 120.00
Home Care $ 50.00
DropCam 10
Home Warranty $ 65.00
Car Insurance $ 226.00
Cord Blood Banking $ 0.00
Food/House Expenses $ 500.00
Shopping/Entertainment $ 100.00
Gifts $ 40.00