• filter:

Take rate reset deal on 5/5 Penfed ARM rate before feds start raising rates?

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
At 2.75% until 2/1/18.  The current 5/5 ARM is 3.125%.  My reset offer is 0.0625% less than the current rate: 3.07% for the next 69 months (so I'd lose 9 months at 2.75%).

The feds are 99% going to raise the rate tomm and probably at least one more time this year so I am looking at two fed rate raises before my loan resets.  I'm not an expert on how this effects mortgage rates, but it seems rather likely that the 5/5 ARM won't be going below 3% again anytime soon.

I have read the loan is linked to the 5-Year Treasury Constant Maturity Rate + 2%.  I am leaning towards taking the deal as I feel I have more to lose than gain - it's 'only' $50 a month more on my mortgage before tax deduction.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
The rate is 0.06 less than whatever the current promo rate is, so it changes when the promo rate does.  You have until 4... (more)

realjones (Mar. 16, 2017 @ 5:43p) |

Rate is down to 3.0% today.
I have the Rate Alert since mid-Feb when it was 3.0 Was hoping for 2.875 and it went to 3.125... (more)

Amby (Mar. 27, 2017 @ 2:01p) |

I have another 14 months to go.  Anything I can do in the meantime given that I'll be moving out of the house 6 months l... (more)

LukFilm (Mar. 27, 2017 @ 5:06p) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
I'd probably do it.

Fed rate moves don't exactly impact the longer term rates that drive mortgages. But chances are you aren't going to see that rate lower than 3% next Feb.

rated:
how did you receive this offer? was it through the mail or email? I have been trying to figure out what I would do. I'm at 2.625%, but mine doesn't reset 2/1/19

I think I would go for it. How do they figure out the payment? Do they reamortize the loan at your current balance and new rate over 27 years?

rated: