• filter:

Is it worth donating clothes?

• Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I will say up front, I have little experience in "charitable donations" and will be donating my clothes regardless. I have too many that I have no use for, and I try to limit what I throw in the garbage. My question is, should I take it to a place that will give me a receipt? Is that even worth my time? I have about 30 articles of clothing to give. I file itemized deductions on my taxes. Thanks.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Get a very part time job and take the Earned Income tax credit?

tjguitar85 (Mar. 22, 2017 @ 1:57p) |

Unless you have dependents, the EIC isnt worth messing with.  If you happen to qualify, great, but creating income just ... (more)

Glitch99 (Mar. 23, 2017 @ 8:07a) |

YES! And it doesn't measure actual results. A local organization can spend 2% on overhead because all the employees are ... (more)

marginoferror (Mar. 23, 2017 @ 8:45a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
InFlamed said:   I will say up front, I have little experience in "charitable donations" and will be donating my clothes regardless. I have too many that I have no use for, and I try to limit what I throw in the garbage. My question is, should I take it to a place that will give me a receipt? Is that even worth my time? I have about 30 articles of clothing to give. I file itemized deductions on my taxes. Thanks.
Yes, I find it to be worth it.

Good Will gives a generic receipts with total of bags/boxes etc..

It's your responsibility to prove your donations (worth).  I take a picture of the items and use "It's deductible" through TurboTax.

It's free money for items I was going to trash anyway.

Good luck. 

rated:

rated:
In many places the Salvation Army (satruck.org) picks up donations of value from homes and businesses. Not as picky and condescending toward donors as Goodwill, in my experience.

rated: