• filter:

Who is responsible to withhold FICA taxes?

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
~~My Employer didn't withhold the Social Security and the Medicare taxes from my paystubs. It's been 2 years now, and the tax preparer just notified me when I filed the tax return this year. I went back to my previous W-2 and it's the same. It has a blanks for SS and Medicare. The only taxes they are withholding are the Federal, State, LST, and Unemployment taxes (No Social, No Medicare).When I joined my employer, I was on Student VISA/OPT and at that time, it looks no FICA tax needed to be withheld. However, they filed my H1-B and then -based on what I red online- these taxes should apply since that date. So obviously, it looks that my employer didn't update their payroll with the correct status, and for me I have no knowledge about all these tax regulations and deductions.My question in the first place, do I owe IRS for the past period (since I moved to H1-B date) almost 2 years?
2. who is liable for this mistake and who needs to pay?
3. And if I am liable for my share, do I need to pay back the period when I moved to H1-B or the employer just can start withhold this tax starting this month and moving on.Can you please advise?

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
If you have a W2 then your employer. If you have a 1099 then you have to pay it.
Edit: I'm talking bout the employer's portion of the FICA. †Your portion is there regardless of whether you're W2 or 1099.

rated: