• filter:

Edward Jones new 1.35% flat fee decision

• Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I am in a dillema and unsure what to do as I am not very good with finance. I have my ROTH with Edward Jones and lately because of the new rule by DOL, my advisor informed me that they introduced a new flat fee of 1.35% annually of my total fun in my portfolio. Right now, each year I contribute the money, Edward Jones takes 5% commission. So for example, I contribute $10k, EJ takes $500. With the new fee structure, I would pay 1.35% of that $10k plus whatever balance I have in my portfolio. I can't decide what to do. My advisor at EJ said several people prefer that flat fee, but in a long run I just don't feel good about it. If I decide to convert to this new flat fee, EJ will refund the past commission to help pay for the 1.35%. It looks tempting from the sound of it in a short term. To add to it, with the flat fee it will allow my advisor to sell/buy new fund without having to worry about the 5% commission. 

So what you all think? Should I stick with the 5% commission each time I contribute or go with this new flat fee? The 5% seems steep, but my fund has been doing okay to a point that I already earn money and break even. I am not sure really and again I am not very good with finance. 

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Sounds like a bad deal 1.35% of every thing every year or 5% of new money only... if you invest with them for 4 years or... (more)

BPANZER1 (Apr. 10, 2017 @ 2:32p) |

Shortened it to just what we need.

There are no scenarios where either option works out well.

beatme (Apr. 11, 2017 @ 7:39a) |

They do this all over, act like I am your trusted neighbor so let me scam you.  Once had to run circles around the logic... (more)

DamnoIT (Apr. 12, 2017 @ 10:58a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:

rated:
ouch.

rated:
The answer is no.