Driving car after accident because cant afford new one

Archived From: Finance
  • Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
So  I have been driving my car for about 4 months now after rear end accident  I don't have enough money to buy a new car with what the insurance gave me which is $8000, which I did not cash. The insurance company wants me to Salvage my car.  I called DMV  and found out my car has not been listed as  Salvage and can I renew my registration in about a month. What kind of car can I get with $8000 down payment? I am hesitant to call the insurance company thinking they will tell DMV my car is totaled and I can't drive it anymore. When I got a estimate the repair is $11,000 for repair with insurance and  $7500 without insurance.

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

dfres said:   So  I have been driving my car for about 4 months now after rear end accident  I don't have enough money to buy a new car with what the insurance gave me which is $8000, which I did not cash. The insurance company wants me to Salvage my car.  I called DMV  and found out my car has not been listed as  Salvage and can I renew my registration in about a month. What kind of car can I get with $8000 down payment? I am hesitant to call the insurance company thinking they will tell DMV my car is totaled and I can't drive it anymore. When I got a estimate the repair is $11,000 for repair with insurance and  $7500 without insurance.

Is 8k the salvage value? Can you get a comparable vehicle for 8k? If not, insurance is not making you whole.
There are lot of (used) cars that you can buy out right for 8k. With 8k downpayment, you can buy most cars other than super luxury ones (say > 50k total price). Not that you should buy such a vehicle.