• filter:

What else should I think about when choosing HDHP vs. traditional insurance?

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I'm based in the US and buy employer-sponsored health insurance that covers me and my spouse. We're about to have our first child; I have been evaluating our options for health insurance for 2018 and am trying to run the numbers on whether a "normal" health plan or an HDHP are better. 

It seems like the costs of healthcare assuming we use the plan heavily are almost identical; what am I missing?

The plan options look roughly like:

(1) "Traditional" plan - $6500 annual premiums - for in-network care, $25 copay for primary care and $150 copay for hospital visits. No deductible, $4000 out of pocket maximum annual costs. Out of network coverage is terrible.

(2) "High deductible" plan - $3300 annual premiums - for in-network care, $5500 family deductible, after which $0 copay for all care. Employer contributes $2100 to an HSA (we would contribute the remaining maximum contribution, an additional $4650.) Out of network coverage is terrible.

It seems like under plan (1) we pay $6500 in pre-tax money and about $0 extra for copays. (Could add up if we consume a lot of non-preventive care.)

It seems like under plan (2) we pay $7950 in pre-tax money between premiums and HSA contributions. And it seems like if we assume we spend the entire deductible but have no other costs, we use most of our HSA, but still have about $1250 left over in HSA savings which can pay for future health care expenses.

As far as I can tell we do not want to make this change in mid-2017 when the child arrives because the HDHP will probably not pro-rate the deductible when we join mid-year. (I need to double check this.)

Co-pays for prescription drugs are similar in both plans.