Want to sell my '02 high-mileage car to CarMax but CEL went on - how much will it impact their offer?

Archived From: Finance
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
Looking for some advice.  I've been driving my super-reliable 2002 Lexus SC430  for the last 9 years (I bought it back in 2008 with about 55K miles on it for $22K) and I'm finally sick enough of it that I want to trade it in for something different this year.  Of course, just as I make this decision, my check engine light goes on.  I have an OBD scanner and there were several codes dealing with the O2 sensor and Evaporative Emission System.  I cleared the codes and within 30 mins, the CEL went back on again, so I'm worried that it's something that needs repair soon.

According to KBB the trade-in value is somewhere between $5200-7200.  Right now, I'm thinking that I'd like to buy my next car from CarMax because I might want to get another used luxury convertible (I'm thinking about a 2009+ BMW Z4) and I've always worried about BMW reliability/maintenance-costs, but I read the Jalopnik posts from xxx where he bought a totally unreliable Land Rover, got a CarMax MaxCare warranty for $2-3K and had over $8K in repairs they covered, so my plan is to get that.  Because of my SC430's age and mileage (135K) I understand that they'll just sell it to auction and not try to sell it themselves.

*IF* I'm going to get my next car from CarMax, I'd prefer to sell my car to them to save on the hassle and to get a discount on the sales tax.

So my question is, if CarMax is just going to sell it to auction anyway, will the CEL make a big difference in what they're going to offer me?

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
Expensive fix: Replace EVAP canister. Just need a few deep socket hex wrenches and pliers + 1-2 hours of your time + $30... (more)

HaloFans (May. 07, 2017 @ 9:21p) |

A few folks have recently replied with suggestions about clearing the evap codes, so just to reiterate...the evap codes ... (more)