• filter:

How to best optimize funds from sale of rental property

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I did some searching and could not find a close-enough answer to my questions(s), so I could use some help from the FWF gurus.   

I hope to soon begin the process of selling my rental house in another state to the long-term (way more than 5 years) tenants. We are not using a realtor and I hope to realize about $35 - 40k over what I paid for the property back in 1999, and about $55 - 65k over what is owed on the mortgage. 

I am not a tax expert and am not that familiar with investments. My question is: What would you recommend as the best way to optimize the proceeds from the sale (most minimum tax burden, etc.)? For example, can some of the proceeds be put right into an IRA or something that would keep them from being taxed? Will that just come back to bite me later? Is there a legal way to shelter some of the proceeds (I will need some of them for making some renovations to my current home, so can't do the whole amount) somehow? 

Thank you so much for your advice!  

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Hmmm... name looks familiar.  Roll the proceeds of the sale into the purchase of another house. Profit!

rated:
1031 Exchange. Google it.

rated:
What was the purchase price in 1999? Reason it is important is because the property has been depreciated to about 40% of the value because of 27.5 years depreciation. So when you sell it at 35-40K more, taxes would be paid on 35-40K + depreciation recapture amount. Depending on the cost of the property this number can be high.

Strategies to save tax? have you read about 1031 exchange

rated:
Hey, you know what? 1031 exchange.

rated:
Hi Q! How's my sweet cow!    And I don't want another house!