• filter:

New Woman Owned Minority Business - do's and don'ts

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
Hello,
We are in Northern VA and are in the midst of opening a small, home based business (S-corporation). As a registered architect, I will be providing my architectural design services, but wish to incorporate the business under my wife's name to be able to register with the SBA as a woman owned, minority business. Getting an 8(a) designation will help us grow the business. Not having started anything of our own previously, we are a little hesitant, and would appreciate any guidance and advice you may have. We will be working with a CPA to set up the firm and register with the state, IRS, etc. but it is always helpful to know "what to expect".
Some specific areas we would love advice on:
1) Titles - since the firm would be under my wife's name, we believe it would be best for her to be the President, with me being the VP. Do we need to have a document which states that either one of us can sign documents for the firm?
2) Benefits:

1. Medical - We are not sure if we can qualify under Obamacare or whatever version is out there. Should we just look @ getting quotes from Anthem Blue Cross, Kaiser, etc? Since the firm will have only my wife and I as employees, the medical brokers don't seem to want to assist us much.
  2. 401k - We would prefer having a 401k over a SEP IRA, but not sure about the difference in administrative costs for these. Who should we talk to or how should we proceed on this? 
  3. PTO? Do we need to "offer" vacation/PTO? Keep timesheets? We asked our CPA, but didn't get a firm answer.
  4. Liability Insurance: Should we let our home insurance know we are starting a home based business? We have a general umbrella insurance through them as well. Would that cover as liability insurance? At most, we may have a client visit our home once every quarter?