• filter:

How to Support Family while Starting New Business?

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I am a pharmacist in NY. I am looking to possibly partner with a colleague of mine in purchasing an existing pharmacy. Without even getting into those details, my primary question and issue is financial. I would like to get informed opinions on this one primary issue for me at this very preliminary time: I don't currently have money saved nor do I really have any liquid funds that I could use to support my family at the early stages of a business venture. Even with getting a small business loan, my biggest fear is having funds to support my family while I get into business. Can anyone tell me if they have ever started a business in such a circumstance? If so, can you provide some direction on this issue. I would appreciate it.
Please Help.
Thanks !
I didn't find the right solution from the internet.

References:
- https://www.smallbusinessforums.org/showthread.php?17718-An-absolute-beginner-s-question515165

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Pick your preferred answer:

a. If you are asking this question then you probably shouldn't be doing this as your best hope will be luck.

b. You should look up SCORE (https://www.score.org/) or find someone who has started a business, pay to take them to lunch and get some very valuable near-free advice.

c. Setup an appointment with a local bank, explain what you are doing, and ask how many million they will loan you.  Then ask why and listen.

d. Don't worry about it and hope that you won't make mistakes and find that you needed much more money for the business than you planned, then be forced to give up on the business sooner than you wanted to take a job to pay your mortgage.

rated:
Have you considered delaying your buy-a-business plans, saving money, and then trying to start a business after you have saved enough money?