• filter:

Best way to end a time share presentation

• Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
We'll be getting a free breakfast and significant discount for a few activities we are doing. We need to attend a time share presentation, what is the best way of getting off the hook at end of their presentation? I know there are a few "experts" here...

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
I work in IT for a Hotel/Resort company and get employee rates at over 3,500 hotels and resorts world wide, including ti... (more)

jeff1b (Aug. 16, 2017 @ 2:06p) |

You know that one of the rules they ask is ,do you work for a timeshare company, don't they?

forbin4040 (Aug. 16, 2017 @ 10:18p) |

That was not the case for any presentations I went to. The info they collected up front was very minimal. Name, address,... (more)

jeff1b (Aug. 17, 2017 @ 9:51a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
tell them from the outset you have no interest in buying and let them see you set the timer on your phone for whatever the required interval is.  Then when the alarm goes off be polite but let them know time is up and you have to get to an appointment.

rated:
Go alone.
Never say you are married, or seeing anyone.
Act disinterested. Look elsewhere when the salesman try to engage you.

Don't respond in kind when the sales guy try to guilt-trip you.

Only thing you should show interest is the promised payoff after you have been let go!

Even if I can shave an hour off a 90 minute timeshare presentation - I personally don't find them worth it. The back and forth trip etc usually means half a day of precious vacation time is wasted! The payoff (~$300-ish last time I did it) is not enough to make up for it.

Disclaimer - I stopped doing timeshare presentations a decade ago. Not sure if things have changed since then.

rated:
crap your pants

rated: