• filter:

Looking to move in search of lower cost of living

• Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
I presently live in Hawaii, which is amazing, but the cost of living (housing in particular) is out of control.  It's simply not possible for me to live here without going greatly into debt.  I can't justify spending $800k for a 3 bed 1.5 bath house built 50 years ago.  I'm hoping for some suggestions from the FW community.  These are some loose parameters:

• Housing budget of ~$300k although lower would be great
  • I'm okay with a small house but would like a good amount of land (1 acre+)
  • Focused on the Pacific NW or Colorado.  Willing to consider other areas but would prefer to stay close to the west coast and away from hot and humid climates (had enough of that)
  • No children so schools and such are not a factor
  • I'd like to be within 30-40 minutes of a medium to large size city (closer the better)
  • I work in finance.  My wife is a dental hygienist.  She would want to continue with that career, I'm a bit more agnostic.  We are in our 30s. 

I can narrow it down further if that's still too general.  Just looking for some suggestions that I can research further so any assistance would be appreciated!

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
If I can make an unconventional suggestion - consider CT.

One of the little known secrets is that CT is very affordable a... (more)

puddonhead (Sep. 05, 2017 @ 12:12p) |

Sorry for the reply delay, got sucked into the Category 6 blog at WeatherUnderground and lost a few days watching Harvey... (more)

canoer (Sep. 08, 2017 @ 10:53p) |

dandruff (Sep. 09, 2017 @ 8:03a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
Check out Fort Collins, Colorado.

rated:
Come to detroit

rated:
Portland, eastside.

rated:
I know you don't want to hear Texas... but we have great air conditioning.

rated: