• filter:

Zero cost refinancing or closing cost refinancing for newbie

• Page :
  • Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
HiWe bought the house at 4.15 % interest rate for 30 years fixed on a $45000 house with 10% down.My mortgage broker called and said we can do zero cost refinancing for 3.125 for $15 years fixedor2.875% for $15 years fixed with closing cost which he says will be approximately $2000. We have about $395000 loan left.We are planning to stay in this house for atleast 10 years.
Please advice which is better no cost refinancing at higher rate or closing cost at lower rate. I am a complete newbie any advice from expers will help,

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
What lender is doing this? Is this possible in Ohio

Johst231 (Sep. 19, 2017 @ 11:04p) |

Not if you can't read...

scripta (Sep. 19, 2017 @ 11:27p) |

So getting a no/low cost refi is possible with >80% LTV? How about >90% LTV?

jaytrader (Sep. 21, 2017 @ 8:48a) |

Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

rated:
You can compare break-even here: https://www.mtgprofessor.com/calculators/Calculator11a.html 
You can even enter opportunity costs like expected investments return (in the "interest on savings" field) and marginal tax rate .

Also you need to go over actual numbers for the loan from the broker.  You should receive something in writing (or email).  Is the broker quoting you lender fees or total costs (including third party charges)? A "zero cost" refinance means the lender credit covers all third party fees. A "zero lender cost" means you still have to payany third party fees.

rated:
He said its zero point, zero cost so our out of pocket will be nothing except maybe around $200 to $300 if at all anything is needed.