• filter:

Updated:Seller refused to release Earnest Money and resold to another party

• Text Only
  • Search this Topic »
Voting History
rated:
Newbie here. I made an offer to a house with 5k earnest money. Upon inspection there were several items that required repair which the seller refused. Because of seller refusal I retracted my offer per the inspection contingency. However it has been six weeks and the seller refuse to release my earnest money. To make things worse the house has been relisted and has another contract signed. The listing agent and the seller are probably very close, and they are still holding EM. What should I do besides reporting the agent to the state board? TIA.

Edit 1:
1. The state is Illinois.
2. My attorney has recorded the contract. According to her, this is the closest to putting a lien.
3. The seller's listing company is a very small company. That's why we suspect the seller and broker are working together.
4. 'making things worse' because I was worried if they close anyway I will have no way to get money back.

Edit 2:
Sorry for taking me so long for the update. The managing broker of my agent contacted the managing broker of the seller's agent. The matter is being investigated by the brokers. Will keep you guys posted. Thank you for all the suggestions!

Edit 3 (Sep 20):
The managing broker of the seller's agent offered to help when we first contacted her and confidently promised she would have it investigated and resolved ASAP last week.
However, she texted this morning that there are uphills in the process and she couldn't help anymore. Then no response to our calls/texts. 
May need to file lawsuits. Any suggestions on this? Should I hire a new attorney for lawsuit? Thank you.

Member Summary
Most Recent Posts
So which was it, repair items that they refused to fix, or no washer and dryer?  These are two very different things. W... (more)

dcwilbur (Sep. 22, 2017 @ 12:47p) |