posted 48 years ago by
ShoppingChick

Kmart has the Soda Stream Home Soda Maker Jet Machine on sale for $19.99 with in-store pickup. 

• Included: SodaStream Machine 1 Reusable Starter CO2 Carbonator (4 oz.) 1 Reusable Carbonating Bottle
  • Features Easy Snap-Lock Bottle Connection Automatic slider for simple carbonation
  •  Choose from over 40 better-for-you regular, diet, and naturally flavored SodaStream mix varieties with no high-fructose corn syrup and no aspartame
  • Requires no electricity or batteries
  • 2-year warranty               

Rated 4.6/5 stars from 247 Kmart customer reviews.  A seller on Amazon has the next lowest price for $62.97 while merchants on Google Shopping has it priced from $66.99.

Views
32 Comments
Add Comment
What's the best-case cost to use this ongoing compared to store-bought?

Just ordered one from the last Kmart in my area - thanks!

Hi there.  I've been using my Soda Stream for several years now, and I am pleased with it.  From a cost savings, you're probably not going to save tons.  The CO2 tank has a proprietary valve which prevents refilling it from any standard gas supply company.  For this reason, you have to exchange it when it runs dry.  They say that the tank (about $15) should supply 60 one-liter fills.  I personally like a lot of fizz, so I put more CO2 into each liter of soda.  For this reason, I get about 45 liters.  Your mileage may vary.  A bottle of flavoring gives me about 8 liters, at about $4 per bottle.  I can usually get my CO2 exchanges at Bed Bath & Beyond, using one of their many $5 coupons, bringing that cost to about $10.

So .....
$10 for CO2 for 48 liters of soda
6 bottles of flavoring, at $4 per, for 48 liters of soda:  $24

Total - $34 for 48 liters of soda, or 70 cents per liter.