• Page :
  • Text Only
Voting History
rated:
I've been using the same travel agent for my cruises for the past several years. Unfortunately, he's got a different job now and is only doing TA stuff as a sideline so his response time isn't very good. I'm looking to book a new cruise and was looking for an agent that would give me the most on-board credit (OBC) and not charge fees. I submitted a quote request on Cruise Complete and got a few responses, and the ones I've checked the ratings for look good, but I'm wondering if there's anything I should be wary of. Has anyone had particularly good/bad experiences with Cruise Compete agents? I had never thought about fees until I read a negative comment from someone on Cruise Critic a few months ago.

Sadly, Cruise Critic doesn't allow you to post agency questions (or comments), so I can't ask there (hopefully FW doesn't have a similar rule!). If there is a cruise board where agent discussions are allowed, please give me a pointer to it.

Thanks..

Member Summary
Staff Summary
Thanks for visiting FatWallet.com. Join for free to remove this ad.

I foundd that the deals offered were terrible and most of their agents tried to push more expensive cabins. I usually use Pennsylvania Travel who rebates some of their commission when allowed by the cruise line. Sadly, many lines have banned price competition.

The cruise lines don't let the agents advertise lower prices, so the best you can hope for is decent OBC and/or other perks.

I emailed one guy who I've spoken to online in the past and he told me that his commission on the cruise I was looking for was $100 per person, and he felt that his expertise was worth that much and so he would not offer any OBC. I can respect his opinion, but I don't necessary agree with it.

I just submitted two requests for quotes for two Alaskan cruises I am looking at for August. Lets see what kind of replies I get.